Pumpernickel

I will never buy pumpernickel again.  I can’t even order ‘moons over my hammy’ at Denny’s because of the embarrassing sound of those words.  And today I learned that pumpernickel translates to ‘flatulent nick‘.

Pumper is an old German word for a fart and nickel is German for ‘nick’.  Old Nick is often used as a nickname for the devil so the actual translation should be something like ‘devil fart’.  It earned its name because it is hard to digest.

I know you don’t believe me so look it up yourself.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

